Beginning

I don’t want to miss out on beginning. Sometimes I get caught in trying to get everything “just right” or perfect. I want to write the perfect first blog post with the perfect (for me) blog name. Yet I don’t want to miss out on starting something because I get caught in a false perfectionism.

“Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor, the enemy of the people. It will keep you cramped and insane your whole life..” Anne Lamott in Bird By Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

This quote is above my desk at work. I have a problem with perfectionism and it impacts me starting things or sometimes ending them. I always have in mind how to do things a bit better. Maybe making a present just a little nicer, a note more personalized, a work project more complete, my office more organized, a workout harder faster or longer. Sometimes this idea of perfectionism nearly paralyzes me. The gift isn’t given before the baby has suddenly turned 6 months and can’t be squeezed into the 3 month outfit. I don’t have time to work out for an hour so I decide 30 minutes just wouldn’t cut it. I rewrite a thank you note twice because my handwriting seemed messy. Did I mention I have some perfectionism challenges. I do however start and finish many projects and end up being happy with them, content, joyful, and often wishing for the feeling to last. There is often a feeling of accomplishment and that I have embraced, rather than missed the opportunity in front of me. There will be more on why I chose the domain name for the blog and what I was thinking but for today it is about beginning and that I don’t’ want to miss the opportunity to start blogging as I expect it to be wonderful. The blog, and journeying is not about perfection (in this case a perfect blog name or design) but moving forwarding and not missing what is in front of me. More than that though… in the coming posts I will explore what it means for me not to miss living out faith day by day.

Welcome!

Posted on February 21, 2011, in Faith, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

