Being a Curator

I’ve been at the Catalyst Conference in Dallas this week. The lab day, and first full day have wrapped up and I don’t know exactly where to start sifting through the messages, challenges, encouragements, and truths shared. As I flip through my moleskin there are points for me to ponder and pray through for many weeks and months to come. This is why I made this journey.

To start my debrief process the talk from Andy Stanley comes to mind. He stated that “a single act of courage is often the tipping point for something extraordinary.” He went on to talk about the 3 faces of courage – the courage to stay, the courage to leave, and the courage to ask for help (he specifically referenced counseling). He then talked about what we should fear… specifically “waking up and not being in the center of God’s will.” “We should be afraid of waking up and thinking we’ve missed out.” He also essentially reminded us that we will not know the outcome or impact of that single act in the moment we take action.

This was important to me… powerful. The name of my blog is “I don’t want to miss.” Missing out is my biggest fear… I wrote this before hearing Andy Stanley’s talk… which made me think I might be onto something.  Deciding to start blogging included a list of pros and cons regarding my fears and today I felt affirmed that starting was a good decision. Also it was a great encouragement that action is important, while embracing we do not know the outcome.

Later Scott Belskey expressed that we are to be “curators of what is interesting” to us. I love that phrase… what is of interest to me includes a long list not limited to: orphans, foster kids, young adults, those with severe mental health challenges, mentoring, church, justice, compassion, social work, sports, adventure, travel, Moldova, and Haiti. Thinking of how to be a curator of these interests and express them with others in the best way possible is challenging and exciting to me. I too also want to engage with others to see what they are curators of. I want to see what beautiful pieces we each share or are unique. I don’t want to miss today that my hope can be to be a curator for what God has placed on my heart. Writing is a part of this role as curator.

Posted on May 13, 2011, in Courage, Don't Miss, Faith, kids, Mentor, Missions, Orphans, Social Work, Travel, Writing, Young Adults and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

