Cubicle Inspiration

 My office is moving this week.  My co-workers and I have been “hosted” at another site within the agency for over a year until reorganization of space occurred.  We will be moving to a new location and sharing space with a much larger state agency.  It is better for the clients we serve as we’ll be back in the city.  I will be leaving my windowless office with its door and moving back to cubicle land.  On the other side of the new building lies the ocean, that will not be my view, I do not have a window.  The rhythm of my work will need to change.  My door is non-existent therefore can’t be shut to my co-workers talk of retirement or to save them from my adventurous musical taste, podcast or Pandora listening.  I know they wouldn’t appreciate my music or voicemails I listen to on speakerphone.

There is a list or rules for our new cubicleville – don’t hang any pictures on the walls, don’t plug in any small appliances, and some rules about tape, tacks, and many others I am already concerned about.  In my other spaces, and the office I just left, I have put up very intentional pictures, quotes, and art that are reminders to me to keep my work in perspective.  I have loved my current bulletin board and white board – I look up and most often I gain a bit of perspective – it was very sad taking it down.  Other people post phone numbers, lists, reminders, etc.  I tend to post what inspires me.   I have been concerned about how I will make this new space one that inspires me to keep moving forward.   I have realized that a new set of headphones is needed sooner than later.   Here’s a glimpse of what I took down.

Miracles do not, in fact, break the laws of nature.  C.S. Lewis

 

This quote is next to a “life is good” sticker and a picture of an important kid in my life who has transformed me…she has not always believed life is good.

Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor.  It will keep you cramped and insane your whole life.   – Anne Lamott

 “If you make $50,000 per year, you are wealthier than 99 percent of the world.” Global Rich List as read about in The Hole in our Gospel  (www.globalrichlist.com)

 Children I have taken pictures of in Haiti, Moldova, and Mexico (these are just a few of many pictures)

Below is the picture of a man in Haiti and I love his smile and the TapTap behind him.  I know as I took it he was walking through a road with broken homes and businesses around him. 

 He wasn’t posing… there was joy in his step. 

I also keep a list of the Places/Trips I have been on in the past 10 years – to remind me that I’m not standing still – and usually I have on my whiteboard the next adventure to look forward to. 

 What inspires you in your office, kitchen, at your desk, or in your cubicle?

How do you keep your perspective and stay inspired? (possibly even in a  cube with lots rules and don’ts)

Posted on June 8, 2011, in Faith, kids, Missions, Social Work, Travel, Young Adults and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

