Restoration and Reflection

For my vacation week I have chosen to stay close to home. Errands and day trips have happily punctuated my week thus far. I had been considering going away for a couple of days for a retreat of sorts but knew that it would be a challenge for me to relax and not “do.” I also live in a beautiful area and believed this would give me an opportunity to re-visit some favorite places and maybe discover some new ones. Yesterday I chose to take out my new kayak and venture out to Choate Island. http://www.thetrustees.org/places-to-visit/northeast-ma/crane-wildlife-refuge-on-the.html It’ a paddle and hike that I have done before and it didn’t disappoint. It was an hour paddling through the salt water at low tide until I reached the dock on the island. I saw 2 caretakers, one pruning and the other on his tractor. Our conversation consisted of quick friendly waves. The 135 acre island was essentially all mine for the 2 hours I spent walking to the top of the hill, having lunch, conversing with God, taking photographs, and attempting to drink in the beauty. The paddle back was a bit more taxing but still good and I continued to feel overwhelmed by the restoration the day had brought. It gave me time for reflection of what I have been learning and challenged me to think about how I desire to reflect light.

The following are a few pictures from my day. 

 The house is over 250 years old and has some old lead windows.   

There is a glimpse of the  the salt marsh from one of the windows.  Another trip is in order to catch the perfect shot. 

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

