Charity Water Birthday

In September I turned 40.  For my birthday it was easy to acknowledge that I don’t need or want for anything materially.  Yet, I’ll be honest, I do like gifts.  I enjoy it when someone chooses a personal gift for me.  It is not about the size or cost of the gift but really the thought.   A collectible item found at a yard sale, a picture, book, recipe, a new piece of sports equipment, etc., I love them all.  Yet again there was nothing I needed or wanted so I thought why not ask friends and family to give to an organization that is on the front lines of working to solve the water crisis in the world.  Having travelled to places in the world where clean water is an issue this seemed right.  It’s always bothered me on trips that I drink clean water because I can afford it while others go without.  So I raised funds toward clean water through Charity Water

 

 

What happened was that each time my email alerted me to a new donation there was incredible joy.  What I found that friends and family far and wide joined in celebrating my birthday in a different way, in a way that was deeply personal to me.   Each donation was as precious as a collectible item, a picture, book, personal recipe or  piece of sports equipment.  Each made me smile when I thought of both the good that the donation would make to help bring clean water, but also the relationship I had with that person.  What especially touched me was that a few of the young woman I have had the pleasure of knowing in their high school years through church joined in helping me celebrating my 40th.   As young leaders they understand this water crisis and want to do something about it.  Thank You Charity Water for your birthday present to me!

Posted on October 30, 2011, in 40 for 40, Faith, Family, Friends, Travel, Young Adults and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

