A Walk in the Bush

Saturday – a more relaxed day and chores do not start at 5am or even 6am. In he afternoon the interns and the other consultants went to visit some of the kids who now study at a nearby boarding school. As I haven’t previously met these former full care kids I decided to continue to my sewing project and go for a walk. I asked many of the younger (elementary school) kids if they wanted to go with me. My plan was to go on my usual 2 mile walk in the Neighborhood. Oscar however had another idea and we decided to take a path going back to the school another way. The shortcut through the bush weaved among many yards, around mud huts with grass roofs, and the kids ducked under laundry to continue on the path. We were pointed the way to cross over the stream. As with any good trek there must be an obstacle to make the adventure complete.

We came to the stream, or more of a muddy ditch and the the choice needed to be made about crossing. Oscar ran and jumped it with ease. The girls walked to the edge and considered it. I asked if they wanted to walk back to the road, a wavering yes by one or two by the girls, and then another boy jumped. It was time for me to make the leap and lead the way. A run and jump and one of my feet landing squarely in the mud to my ankle Laugher all around. More jumping and a hand lent to help dear little Beatrice and we were all over. The children laughed and the walk continued as my toes squished with each step in the mud and water soaked sneaker. Finally as we all reached the school building I asked them to wait.

A line up, each inching forward to get an edge. Ready, Set, Go! We raced the final 200 feet home as the rainstorm began. A perfect Saturday adventure in Uganda.

20130714-124035.jpg

20130714-082200.jpg

20130713-223742.jpg

Posted on July 14, 2013, in Friends, kids, Missions, Nature, Orphans, Social Work, Travel, Uganda. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

